Chapter 3: Ice Skating (excerpt)

“My Father’s Greatest Gift:  Life Lessons from a Black English Labrador Retriever”

My Father’s Greatest Gift

John has a daughter, Lori, who came to live with us. It’s funny
because she’s not at all like us guys. I overheard her talking to her
brother about me saying that she was most curious about me! She got
bundled up on a cold, snowy night to take me out for a walk. Little
did she know what I had in store for her! The minute we stepped
out of the front door, I was away running while pulling her along
behind me on my leash. As I ran, she went sliding along behind me
across the ice glazed street! I think she would have done better had
she clad her cross-country skis, but who am I to say? I think I’ll keep
her as my human girlfriend because she has a compassionate heart
just like her Brother and their Father. I hear that their Mom was a
really fun, loving and joyous woman. I have a lot of work to do to fill
her shoes! I mean, I have four paws, but you get the picture. My job
here is to bring some love, fun and memorable experiences into this
family’s life because it has been so broken by her loss. God has big
plans for me. I hope that He will give me direction because I want
to do the best that I can to help and as you know, us Dogheads don’t
have many years here, so we have to work extra hard at our jobs.
Sometimes, I ask my Master’s wife to give me some suggestions and
I am beginning to feel like she is helping me out here.

Leave a Reply

