Chapter 8: Snow Plowing (excerpt from Chert Dog)

My Father’s Greatest Gift:  Life Lessons from a Black English Labrador Retriever”

My Father’s Greatest Gift

Snow, snow, snow!!! How I LOVE SNOW! Whenever I can,
I put my head through the light, fluffy stuff then roll over and make
doggy angels! Sometimes, the snow gets hard and icy, then it is no
longer fun for snow plowing! I will sit outside in the snow for hours,
catching the flakes on my tongue – tasty! The way the shadows of
blue and silver sparkle like diamonds on the snow are my favorite
thing this time of year! Everything has a fresh newness to it and you
feel revitalized with the crisp air. I could sit in the snow for hours – it
is one of my most favorite pastimes!

It is football season – and John just LOVES football and his
favorite NFL team is the New York Giants! He is so knowledgeable
about the game, he could talk about it for hours with other football
fanatics – and he often does! Back in his younger years, if you played
professional football, you also had a full-time job in the off-season as
the pay was not that good. There was a feeling of camaraderie among
both the coaches and the players and you were a family. You did it
because you loved it, not for the money because it really didn’t pay
that much back then. Boy, how times have changed. Anyhow, he still
loves football and enjoys the announcer’s enthusiasm and background
information about the players.

Leave a Reply

