Cousin Dugan and Jaco Kitty (excerpt)

Chert Dog’s Greatest Gift: Quantum Leaps of Faith

As you can see by the photo, I felt it safe to be on the piano bench, up higher than Cousin Dugan as I surveyed the situation at hand!  I know that Chert and Dugan were best of friends, so he has to be pretty cool even though he is a dog!  I am just not used to sharing my “space” with other animals, so this has been a lesson in loving-kindness and hospitality!  See, all of the challenges do come with a solution, you just have to sit with them and meditate on them long enough and the answer will come.  Just in its own time and on its own terms, most of the time.  This situation was different because Cousin Dugan just “arrived” at our home to stay for a few days, so this is what you call “crash course” leaps of faith!  First, I needed to know that he wasn’t going to bite me!  Second, I needed to know that he was just visiting, so it was just for a few days of adjusting to things being different.  And third, I needed to know that I was strong enough to handle this challenge and become a good and gracious host to Cousin Dugan because he was really put into quite a situation as well.  All his family was gone and he is here with me, a cat that has 22+claws to defend myself, so he was “treading lightly” around me.

After some outdoor activity, we became to bond a bit more as Cousin Dugan is a push-over when it comes to being mild-mannered and easy going!  His kind demeanor made for his visit to be an enjoyable slumber party!  So my inner challenges were once again erased and turned into new and wonderful experiences learning to share my home and get along with another animal.  We are placed in situations and need to ask what the message is being brought by the messenger.  I learned the importance of getting along with others no matter what type of animal that they are.  We are all in this together!  Thanks Cousin Dugan!

 

 

Leave a Reply

