Silly Sylvester Somersaults

Sylvester came into my life Thanksgiving weekend while my brother and I were playing catch football outside.  He was still a kitten, but determined to make his home were I lived.  From the beginning, I could see that Sylvester didn’t know he was a cat because he believed in himself and that he could do anything that he set his mind to.

From “flying” from the back deck to the birch tree, wading in the steam alongside the property, “pointing” at pheasants in the brush, jumping to turn the light switch on or just climbing as high as he could go, he made certain that his message to me was clear – stand your ground, listen to your heart and follow your dreams.

The above video was a weekend project many years ago with friends as Sylvester was filmed doing somersaults, or the Slovak term, “koperdonitz” as Grandma Marge would call them. (Found on YouTube).  After a weekend of filming, he decides that he isn’t interested in somersaulting anymore and lets me know it on the last clip!  My first encounter with this acrobatic ability occurred  as he somersaulted into his food dish one day!  He brought much joy and laughter into my life and his message of believing in myself has resurfaced once again as a reminder to be true to my God-given gifts, talents and abilities and to somersault joyously through life!

016021025020

6 thoughts on “Silly Sylvester Somersaults

Leave a Reply

